Keep Secure: Disable Unused Sharing Options If You’re Not Using Them

The most important ones to disable when not in use are Screen Sharing, File Sharing, Remote Login, Remote Management, and Remote Apple Events.

August 2, 2021

Many security breaches—even high-profile ones—stem from simple oversight. There’s one spot in macOS that you can prevent such a lapse: the Sharing pane of System Preferences. In it, you can enable a wide variety of sharing services, some of which could allow another user to access your Mac remotely. They all let you limit access to particular users, but passwords can be stolen, accounts can be compromised, and server software can have bugs. For safety’s sake, if you’re not actively using a sharing service, turn it off. The most important ones to disable when not in use are Screen Sharing, File Sharing, Remote Login, Remote Management, and Remote Apple Events. We also caution against leaving Printer Sharing and Internet Sharing on unnecessarily.

(Featured image by Morgane Perraud on Unsplash)

You May Also Like…

Help your Family by Planning for the Future!

Apple’s new Legacy Contact feature makes it simpler for you to give a family member access to your iCloud data after your death. Read on to learn how to make someone a Legacy Contact or what to do if you are a Legacy Contact.

read more

Colorful Pointers in macOS 12 Monterey

Apple now lets you change the color of the pointer. That could be a boon to those who have trouble seeing it otherwise, or to those that just was to customize their computer. Here is how to do it:

read more

2022: Digital New Year’s Resolutions

Have a safer 2022 with New Year’s resolutions that will help you secure your devices, avoid email and text scams, and stay safe from malware, as well as benefit from the security and ease-of-use of password managers, which can even fill in passwords for iPhone apps.

read more